Book reviewer extraordinaire!

Adult Authors

Cover of "The Hunger Games"

Cover of The Hunger Games

No, not authors who are adults but authors who write for adults. I have noticed a trend, as of late, where adult mystery authors (Patterson, Kenyon, Baldacci, etc) have entered the children’s and YA arena.

What’s up with that? I mean, why? Is is something you have always wanted to do or is there better money in children’s/YA lit since Harry Potter, Twilight and Hunger Games?

Most notable, I believe, is James Patterson‘s entrance into YA. Maximum Ride and Witch & Wizard are the two that come to mind. I read most of Maximum Ride and one or two of Witch & Wizard. I could not go on. Do not get me wrong, I have read and own the entire Women’s Murder Club series and have loves reading the Alex Cross series. I think this is where he is at his best writing. Adult (murder) mystery books. Not a big fan of his YA though. It felt as if he worked really hard to sound like a teenager. It read like he tried too hard. It was too contrived. As a teacher who hears kids talk, it felt fake when reading the books.

I was in Barnes & Noble yesterday and noticed adult murder mystery writer Sherrilyn Kenyon in the YA section. Her series, The Chronicle of Nick, looks appealing but I am not sure I am ready for another adult author trying to horn-in on the YA trend.

That being said, I am liking the new 39 Clues: Cahills vs Vespers #6 book written by David Baldacci. Maybe it is because I am not a fan of Baldacci’s adult work that I appreciate his YA work? I don’t know. Maybe?

I will be watching…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

