Book reviewer extraordinaire!

Gathering Books

MeetTheStoryteller

unnamed

Thank you so much for featuring me for your fantasy reading theme issue, Myra.

I started writing ‘Princess Petunia’s Dragon’ as a picture book because I love the format. The story was about a child who wanted a difficult pet, a dragon – who finally came into his own when the weather suddenly turned cold. Each time I did a draft I found myself developing the plot, until it ended up at 7,000 words for a reading age of six to nine. I don’t make many conscious choices as I write, rather my imagination makes demands on me.

Like you say, Petunia is a feisty little girl and is probably the child I’d have liked to have been. Writing about a quirky, determined child is exciting, especially when she starts shouting back! I love the randomness of writing fiction.

Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 5.15.15 pm

There are elements in the story of Petunia – such as…

View original post 697 more words

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

